Monday, 1 May 2017

City of Miracles - Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. 'Astonishingly good ...a deep, powerful novel that's worth reading and rereading - Publishers Weekly The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Mieville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this. Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise ... 

My thoughts:
These books do connect, the same players are there. It's just stretch out over a longer period of time. I can't remember exactly how much time has passed since the events in the last books. They said it, and I forgot it. Was it 10 years? Less? The previous books have been about strong women, now we get a man, but he sure is surrounded by women still. The book does have some great side characters.

Shara is dead. What? Come on. That was not nice. I liked her and she did so much for this country! This is a revenge book. Sigrud is a wanted man but he sets out like the devil is behind him. He is gonna kill those bastards that took her down. Nothing stops this man, he is pretty awesome. But there is also something strange about him.

The mystery of who killed her takes him on another route. To find her daughter, to find who the player behind it all is (that person grrrrrrr.)

And what would the book be without a few revelations. And that end! Ha, I did NOT see that coming. Omg, so many, Oh I can not say a thing without spoiling it. It was an epic conclusion. I could leave it at that. But it also showed how the world will continue to grow and change. Epic.

I like how the world is created. Those dead or hidden gods. The miracles they created that crumbled or still stand. It's a fascinating world. Not a medieval fantasy, but a world with magic and industrialization that now has brought us cars. It's such a nice mix of things and the books has taken the reader to different cities, all strange, all interesting.

Book 2 is still my fav cos that one was intense! This one had a different but excellent vibe. An I do recommend this series. I am sad to see the trilogy end, and I hope, hope, he will write more in this world.

Conclusion:
Mystery, danger, revenge and quite a few miracles. A good series ending.

Cover
ok

Paperback, 448 pages
Expected publication: May 4th 2017 by Quercus Publishing
The Divine Cities #3
Fantasy
For review

38 comments:

Nick said...

Wow a 10 years fast forward is certainly a very long time. It sounds like a well written thriller and the characters all sound good. But oh no! Why did he have to go and kill one of your faves?

Nathan (@reviewbarn) said...

Not the best cover of the trilogy for sure. But an awesome book. I am glad you liked it too.

Blodeuedd said...

Well since this one had another main character I would not say that. Then it makes sense to move things along.

Blodeuedd said...

They are so good so for once I do not care about covers, lol

Keertana said...

I haven't heard of this series but I love a good mystery so thanks for putting this on my radar!

Blodeuedd said...

I hope that you give it a go

Joyousreads said...

I've been seeing this book everywhere! I'm curious about it but also low-key intimidated. Lol.

Heidi@Rainy Day Ramblings said...

I am so glad this ended well for you!

Blodeuedd said...

Try book 1 for sure

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Geybie's Book Blog said...

This is a new series for me but it sounds great. Interesting, packed with action and mystery. I can see why you loved it. Awesome review, as usual. Love it. :)

Blodeuedd said...

Thank you!

Melissa (Books and Things) said...

I love to see when you really get into a book. I always hate it when an author kills off a beloved character. Bad author!

Anonymous said...

Just finished this myself! Book 2 was my favorite too, but this one was pretty good especially for an ending (assuming it's a trilogy)!

~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

Carole Rae said...

Boring cover, but it sounds good.

Carole's Random Life in Books said...

This is a great series! I love the first two books and hope to get to this one some time this month. Glad you enjoyed it.

Blodeuedd said...

It did not really matter that he killed her, it made it real

Blodeuedd said...

I do hope there will be more *fingers crossed*

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Blodeuedd said...

I hope that you will enjoy it!

Melliane said...

it's nice to see it's still a good sequel

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Unknown said...

I am glad that you enjoyed this one too even though the first was your favorite!

Nadene @Ttly Addicted 2 Reading said...

I am not familiar with this series, but it sounds interesting. Glad you enjoyed it.

Mary (Bookfan) said...

I like the cover.

Blodeuedd said...

There is always a fav

Blodeuedd said...

It's a good one

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Melanie Simmons (mlsimmons) said...

I have a hard time remembering how much time has passed between books too. I always want to include that information in reviews and I never seem to remember. LOL I love that you didn't see the ending coming. :-)

Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

Blodeuedd said...

Lol, I am glad I am not alone. I am so bad at remembering things

Anna (herding cats-burning soup) said...

Oh ggrrr on killing her off but woo! revenge!

Rachel said...

I do love it when an author can surprise me. Glad to hear you enjoyed the conclusion of the series. :)

Blodeuedd said...

It had to be done

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Carol said...

I haven't started this yet, but I do love Sigrud. Glad to see it's good.

Blodeuedd said...

I hope that u will enjoy it too

Jen Twimom said...

This sounds pretty cool. Not sure I'll get to it, but like your take on it.

Blodeuedd said...

:)

Contributors

Copyright © 2008-2020 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell All Rights Reserved. Proudly powered by Blogger

  © Blogger template Starry by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008 Modified by Lea

Back to TOP