Monday, 1 May 2017

City of Miracles - Robert Jackson Bennett

Sigrud je Harkvaldsson is back, and this time he's out for vengeance. 'Astonishingly good ...a deep, powerful novel that's worth reading and rereading - Publishers Weekly The awesome climax to the fantasy thrillers City of Stairs and City of Blades: perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Brent Weeks and China Mieville. Shara Komayd, once Prime Minister of Saypur, has been assassinated. News travels fast and far, even to a remote logging town somewhere northwest of Bulikov, where the silent, shaven-headed Dreyling worker 'Bjorn' picks up the newspaper and walks out. He is shocked and grieved and furious; he's been waiting thirteen years for Shara, his closest friend, to reach out to him - to tell him to come home. He's always believed she was running a long operation, that there would be a role for him at the right time. Now he has no one else in his life, and nothing to live for - except to find the people who did this. Sigrud wasn't there for the death of his daughter Signe, and he wasn't there when Shara was murdered. Now Bjorn is dead and Sigrud is back. And he will find answers, for Shara, and for himself. He's made a promise ... 

My thoughts:
These books do connect, the same players are there. It's just stretch out over a longer period of time. I can't remember exactly how much time has passed since the events in the last books. They said it, and I forgot it. Was it 10 years? Less? The previous books have been about strong women, now we get a man, but he sure is surrounded by women still. The book does have some great side characters.

Shara is dead. What? Come on. That was not nice. I liked her and she did so much for this country! This is a revenge book. Sigrud is a wanted man but he sets out like the devil is behind him. He is gonna kill those bastards that took her down. Nothing stops this man, he is pretty awesome. But there is also something strange about him.

The mystery of who killed her takes him on another route. To find her daughter, to find who the player behind it all is (that person grrrrrrr.)

And what would the book be without a few revelations. And that end! Ha, I did NOT see that coming. Omg, so many, Oh I can not say a thing without spoiling it. It was an epic conclusion. I could leave it at that. But it also showed how the world will continue to grow and change. Epic.

I like how the world is created. Those dead or hidden gods. The miracles they created that crumbled or still stand. It's a fascinating world. Not a medieval fantasy, but a world with magic and industrialization that now has brought us cars. It's such a nice mix of things and the books has taken the reader to different cities, all strange, all interesting.

Book 2 is still my fav cos that one was intense! This one had a different but excellent vibe. An I do recommend this series. I am sad to see the trilogy end, and I hope, hope, he will write more in this world.

Conclusion:
Mystery, danger, revenge and quite a few miracles. A good series ending.

Cover
ok

Paperback, 448 pages
Expected publication: May 4th 2017 by Quercus Publishing
The Divine Cities #3
Fantasy
For review


38 comments:

  1. Wow a 10 years fast forward is certainly a very long time. It sounds like a well written thriller and the characters all sound good. But oh no! Why did he have to go and kill one of your faves?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well since this one had another main character I would not say that. Then it makes sense to move things along.

      Delete
  2. Not the best cover of the trilogy for sure. But an awesome book. I am glad you liked it too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are so good so for once I do not care about covers, lol

      Delete
  3. I haven't heard of this series but I love a good mystery so thanks for putting this on my radar!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've been seeing this book everywhere! I'm curious about it but also low-key intimidated. Lol.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am so glad this ended well for you!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is a new series for me but it sounds great. Interesting, packed with action and mystery. I can see why you loved it. Awesome review, as usual. Love it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love to see when you really get into a book. I always hate it when an author kills off a beloved character. Bad author!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It did not really matter that he killed her, it made it real

      Delete
  8. Just finished this myself! Book 2 was my favorite too, but this one was pretty good especially for an ending (assuming it's a trilogy)!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do hope there will be more *fingers crossed*

      Delete
  9. Boring cover, but it sounds good.

    ReplyDelete
  10. This is a great series! I love the first two books and hope to get to this one some time this month. Glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  11. it's nice to see it's still a good sequel

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am glad that you enjoyed this one too even though the first was your favorite!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I am not familiar with this series, but it sounds interesting. Glad you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have a hard time remembering how much time has passed between books too. I always want to include that information in reviews and I never seem to remember. LOL I love that you didn't see the ending coming. :-)

    Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol, I am glad I am not alone. I am so bad at remembering things

      Delete
  15. Oh ggrrr on killing her off but woo! revenge!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I do love it when an author can surprise me. Glad to hear you enjoyed the conclusion of the series. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. I haven't started this yet, but I do love Sigrud. Glad to see it's good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope that u will enjoy it too

      Delete
  18. This sounds pretty cool. Not sure I'll get to it, but like your take on it.

    ReplyDelete

Contributors

Copyright © 2008-2016 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell All Rights Reserved. Proudly powered by Blogger

  © Blogger template Starry by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008 Modified by Lea

Back to TOP