Friday 15 April 2022

The Keeper: Mary Bennet's Extraordinary Journey

Narrated by: Amanda Berry

Series: The Bennet Wardrobe, Book 1

Length: 11 hrs and 27 mins

Release date: 08-15-18

Publisher: Don Jacobson

Pride and prejudice variation

To review

Mary is Mary, preachy, somewhat unlikable, and suddenly she realises that too. Why is she always judging other? So when she is the eldest Bennet girl left in the house she sets out on a journey of self discovery. And Mary is so much more than just Mary.

But I am getting ahead of myself. The Bennet family owns a magical wardrobe that can transport you into the future. The wardrobe also has a lot of rules.

Even if the whole time travel thing is there beyond the horizon, this really is about Mary finding herself, re-connecting with her family, finding love, and becoming a beacon of hope.

There is also hints of other events. Kitty's book, Lydia's book, and more.

This was an interesting concept. The wardrobe is obviously secret, like could you imagine what Collins would do?! And lots of family members will use it so more is coming

I really liked Mary in this one, she was sure shown in a new light and it still fitted her essence.

A great narrator, she worked well with different voices, and she sure put the slime in Collins. This was a fun audiobook. It works so well in audio. Pride and prejudice brings all the feels.

Mary Bennet has spent her entire life fighting to be herself. If only she knew just what that was. For years she buried her nose in the musty musing of Fordyce’s Sermons to Young Women trying to be exceptional. She suffered under her mother’s withering criticism of her looks. She was tormented by both her older as well as her younger sisters. Her father ignored everything and did nothing to guide her or encourage her.

Now, both Jane and Lizzy have married, and it is time for Miss Bennet to emerge from her cocoon. Soon, a young woman of deep faith and inquisitive mind appears. Yet, even as Mary Bennet rises from her troubled teenage years, she is challenged by her sudden and total love for a man who mysteriously appears on the night of a great calamity. And his secret grows out of a remarkable device—The Bennet Wardrobe!

Follow the story of Mary Bennet as she matures from the prosy, moralizing caricature found in Jane Austen’s classic Pride and Prejudice into a confident young woman looking to make her mark in the rapidly changing world of the Industrial Revolution. And, see how the amazing Bennet Wardrobe makes life for all Bennets very interesting.

This is Volume 1 of a planned four volume series. The Exile (Vol 2) will watch Kitty Bennet navigate the world from 1886 to 1944. The Pilgrim (vol 3) will explore the story of Lydia Bennet. The Avenger (Vol. 4) will show how Thomas Bennet assumes his rightful role as head of the Bennet family.


  1. Another Mary book, really like the sound of this one.

  2. Being able to travel to the future would be interesting.

    1. Sadly you can't choose where, it takes you where it thinks u need to go

  3. Yes, I liked this version of Mary and the addition of the Wardrobe for a time travel piece was a great twist to the story.

  4. I want a time traveling wardrobe! This sounds like a fun story.

  5. Another Bennet book... you are on a roll! This sounds interesting!

  6. Interesting concept, it's amazing how much they can do with the Bennetts.

  7. Oh, yeah, Collins is slimy! Yuck! This sounds fun. :)

    1. Collins, boooo. Total creep here

    2. Yes...but he does get his comeupance ina totally approriate manner.

  8. Bit of an update to manage expectations. The Bennet Wardrobe series encompasses eight interlocking volumes.
    1. The Keeper: Mary Bennet's Extraordinary Journey
    2. Henry Fitzwilliam's War
    3. The Exile: Kitty Bennet and the Belle Epoque
    4. Lizzy Bennet Meets the Countess
    5. The Exile: The Countess Visits Longbourn
    6. The Avenger: Thomas Bennet and a Father's Lament
    7. The Pilgrim: Lydia Bennet and a Soldier's Portion
    8. The Grail: The Saving of Elizabeth Darcy



Copyright © 2008-2020 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell All Rights Reserved. Proudly powered by Blogger

  © Blogger template Starry by 2008 Modified by Lea

Back to TOP