Friday, 18 May 2018

Audio: Murder between the lines - Radha Vatsal

In the second book in the acclaimed Kitty Weeks Mystery series, Kitty is tasked with writing a story about Westfield Hall, a prestigious girls' boarding school. Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctors proclaim that the girl's sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn't so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario—a murder that may involve Elspeth's scientist father and a new invention by Thomas Edison.

For fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear, Murder Between the Lines is a rich and spirited novel with irresistible charm, combining true historical events with a thrilling mystery. 

Audio CD, 7 pages
Published May 1st 2018 by Tantor Audio
Kitty Weeks Mystery #2
Historical mystery
For review

My thoughts:
I have not read/listened to book 1, and I know that I often say it, but honestly, here it truly works as a  stand alone. The author smoothly sets the reader into Kitty's life and it is like we always were there lurking.

Kitty is 19 and works as a reporter at a woman's page at a magazine. Sure, she does not get paid and she works half days, but she loves it! She wants to be  real reporter, in this man's world. She is curious, nice and young. I liked that it really shows that she is 19 at times. That she still lives with her father and it dependent on him. That she does want to strike out on her own, but is not really ready for that.

What to call this book then. Historical mystery? Sure, yes, and it was light too.

The story then; A girl Kitty just met is found dead. She thinks it is weird and investigates, and this is what I love about historical mysteries, it takes time! She is slowly talking to people and following leads, not even knowing if there was foul play. 

And during this there is talk of war (1915-16), submarines and what Germany might do. Suffragettes and women's place in the work place. All neatly woven in  as she look for her clues. I liked that Kitty learned more about herself and what she wanted to do as she looked deeper into things.

I liked the ending, it was something to make you think

Conclusion:
I enjoyed it and I hope Kitty will have more adventures.

Narrator Justine Eyre
She sounded so familiar, and then she did an accent and I knew! Yes I have listened to her before and I enjoy her voice. I like her male voices and accents. And the friendly tone she has.


18 comments:

  1. I hope that Kitty has more adventures! Great review and thanks for sharing. Have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like you enjoyed this one better than Jenea.

    ReplyDelete
  3. heh... I just read this as well, I really enjoyed most of it. The ending and after she discovered whodunit, was different how it was handled so that was interesting

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really wanted to talk about that, but dang spoilers! Cos it was SO GREY

      Delete
  4. Yay for being able to jump in. I love the premise and think this would be something I'd enjoy. I've had that happen with narrators as well.

    ReplyDelete
  5. It is good when a story has you thinking after it ends.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Haha! You and Lily both posted today on this one and I definitely want to listen in. I enjoy Justine Eyre's narration work.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Justine Eyre is great, I've enjoyed a lot of books she narrated. This sounds good, I like any mystery involving a prep school :)

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  8. Awwwww this sounded like a fun one.

    ReplyDelete

Contributors

Copyright © 2008-2016 Book Girl of Mur-y-Castell All Rights Reserved. Proudly powered by Blogger

  © Blogger template Starry by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008 Modified by Lea

Back to TOP